Teacher of the Year Finalists showcase the spirit of EPISD

Facebook_TOY_TOPTENEarlier this week, the District announced the Top 10 finalists for the El Paso Independent School District Teacher of the Year Award. This group of teachers — five elementary school teachers and five middle or high school teachers — was selected by a panel of independent judges from among 80 other talented and dedicated EPISD educators. Reading their profiles and philosophies on teaching makes me proud to be a part of this amazing school district.

I want to share with you the list of finalists because they represent the EPISD Teacher Corps that in the last couple of years has reaffirmed their commitment to innovative, out-of-the-box instruction that will help us prepare students for the challenges of the 21st century.

As a District, we have moved forward with our implementation of the Active Learning Framework — a teaching and learning approach we know will help students tackle life after high school with the type of preparation parents expect us to provide. Teachers have embraced this framework because they recognize that it works and that it benefits students. This transition has been arduous, and teachers like our Top 10 Finalists are clear examples of the selflessness educators practice when they go above and beyond in their effort to impact the lives of their students.

With that sacrifice and dedication in mind, please help me celebrate our Top 10 Finalists.

The finalists for EPISD Elementary Teacher of the Year are:

  • Rebecca Morales from Herrera Elementary
  • Kathy Morin from Cielo Vista Elementary
  • Felisha Escarsega from Newman Elementary
  • Claudia C. Diaz from Schuster Elementary
  • Michelle Williams from Travis Elementary

The finalists for EPISD Secondary Teacher of the Year are:

  • Josey Mitchell from Coronado High
  • Andrea Alvarado from Lincoln Middle
  • Saul Ramirez from Henderson Middle School
  • Michelle Cervantes from Canyon Hills Middle
  • Dawn Zumar from El Paso High

As you can see, these outstanding educators come from schools spanning the District: from the West Side to East Central and from Northeast to the South Side. This is a testament to my belief that students in EPISD will have access to high-quality education and high-quality teachers no matter the ZIP code in which they reside.

Again, congratulations to these top-notch teachers. And good luck on May 12 when the EPISD Teachers of the Year are announced.